Mapping in the Amazon

Mapping in the Amazon

The rainforests of the Amazon and their communities are threatened. Over 40 hydroelectric dams are planned in the region, and their construction would lead to massive environmental impacts and displacements of indigenous communities in the affected rainforest areas.

In the heart of the Amazon, a camp was set up together with the Munduruku – an indigenous community living in one of the affected areas – to protest against the building of the São-Luiz-do-Tapajós-Dam. Finally, the Brazilian environmental agency declared the suspension of the licence to build the dam – a first victory for the Munduruku in their campaign to protect their home.

With the support of specific field mapping tools, it was possible to do what the Brazilian government refused to do for the indigenous community until then. The Munduruku were supported logistically and technically to map out their land and mark it to protect it against further destruction.

Kartierungen im Amazonasgebiet

Kartierungen im Amazonasgebiet

Die Regenwälder des Amazonas und ihre Bewohner sind bedroht. Über 40 Staudämme sind in der Region in Planung, deren Bau zu massiven Umweltzerstörungen und Vertreibungen von Menschen in den betroffenen Regenwaldgebieten führt.

Im Herzen des Amazonas wurde gemeinsam mit dem dort lebenden indigenen Stamm der Munduruku ein Camp errichtet, um gegen den Bau des São-Luiz-do-Tapajós-Staudammes zu protestieren. Die brasilianische Umweltbehörde gab schließlich bekannt, dass dieser Staudamm nicht gebaut wird – ein erster Erfolg für die Munduruku in ihrem Kampf zum Schutz ihrer Heimat.

Mit Hilfe von Feld-Kartierungs-Geräten wurde vor Ort die Arbeit gemacht, die die brasilianische Regierung dem indigenen Stamm bisher vorenthalten hatte. Die Munduruku wurden logistisch und technisch dabei unterstützt, ihre Gebietsgrenzen zu kartieren und zu markieren, um diese Gebiete vor weiterer Zerstörung zu schützen.